A. E. Athare, S. B. Bhingardive, R S. Hole


M-doped CdO nanoparticles (M = Cu, Ni) were prepared by the co-precipitation method. The X-ray diffraction (XRD), UV-VIS spectrometer techniques were used to Characterize the synthesized products XRD results confirm the formation of Cdo,  Cu-doped CdO, Ni-doped CdO nanoparticles with crystallite  sizes in the range of 7.58-10.60 nm. The optical study shows that doping ions lead to an increase in the absorption edge wavelength and a decrease in the band gap energy of CdO. Photo catalytic activity of the synthesized nanoparticles was successfully tested for photo degradation of Methyl blue as model pollutant under UV light. The photo catalytic activity results confirm that the doped nanoparticles Shows higher activity than undoped CdO. The small grain size, high crystalinity, high specific surface area and decrease in the band gap energy of Cu-doped CdO may be responsible for the high photo catalytic activity.

Full Text:



P.Y.Chan, M.G.El-Din, J.R. Bolton, Water Res.46 (2012) 5672-5682.

I.Oller, S. Malato, J.A. Sanchez-Perez, Sci. Total Environ. 409 (2011) 4141-4166.

V.K. Sharma, T.M. Triantis, M.G. Antoniou, X. He, M. Pelaez, C.Han, W. Song, K.E. O’Shea, A.A. de la Cruz, T. Kaloudis, A. Hiskia, D.D. Dionysiou, Sep. Purif, Technol. 91(2012) 3-17.

S.Cortez, P. Teixeira, R. Oliveira, M. Mota, J. Environ. Manage. 92 (2011) 749-755.

R.B. Waghulade P. P. Patil, Renu Pasricha, Talanta, 72, 594 (2007).

G. N. Chaudhari, A. M. Bende, A. B. Bodade, S. S. Patil, V. S. Sapkal, Sens. Actuators B, 115 297 (2006).

A. Srivastava, Lakshmikumar, Mater. Chem. Phys. 97,85 (2006).

G. N. Chaudhari, A. M. Bende, A. B. Bodade, S.S. Patil, S.V. Manorama, Talanta, 69, 187, (2006).

C. Aifan, H. Xiaodong, T. Zhangfa, B. Shouli, L. Ruixian, L. C. Chiun, Sens. Actuators B,115, 316 (2006).

C. H. Champness, K. Ghoneim, J. K. Chen, Can. J. Phys., 63, 767 (1985).

L. M. Su, N. Grote, F. Schmitt, Electron. Lett., 20, 716 (1984).

L. M. Su, N. Grote, F. Schmitt, Electron Lett., 20, 717 (1984).

I. M. Ocampo, A. M. Ferandez, P. J. Sabastian, Semicond. Sci. Technol., 8, 750 (1993).

F. A. Benko, F. P. Koffyberg, Solid State Commun., 57, 901 (1986).

K. Gurumugan, D. Mangalarag, SA. K. Narayandass, K. Sekar, C. P. Girija Vallabham, Semicond. Sci. Tech., 9, 1827 (1994).

C.Xiangfeng, L. Xingfeng, L. Xingqin, M. Guangyao, Sens. Actuators B, 65, 64 (2000).

A. Askarinejad, A. Morsali, Mater. Lett., 62, 478 (2008).

R. R.Salunkhe, V. R. Shinde, C. D. Lokhande, Sens. Actuators B, 133, 296 (2008).

Y. W. Wang, C. H. Liang, G. Z. Wang, T. Gao, S. X. Wang, J. C. Fan, L. D. Zhang, J. Mater. Sci. Left., 20, 1687 (2001).


  • There are currently no refbacks.